September Recommended Reads

I’m back with more fantasy series that I really enjoyed reading.

I’m using Amazon links, but if you prefer another store, I’m sure you’ll find most of them there as well. Happy reading!

*~*~*

First up, The Quickening series by Fiona McIntosh.

This is a very different epic fantasy series. Expect the unexpected and you won’t be disappointed!

||

*~*~*

Next, The Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard

Here’s the opening to the blurb you’ll find from the publisher (Harper Teen):

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Right. This young adult fantasy series reminded me a more of The Hunger Games than it did Game of Thrones, but… marketing…

*~*~*

Like a bit of steampunk in your stories? The Odd Society series by Kari Kilgore is an enchanting Victorian fantasy. Here’s the blurb:

Victoria Haversham leads a life of privilege. A luxurious home. Beautiful gowns and jewelry. Even a fine education.

But her father’s single-minded determination to marry her off transforms Victoria’s pleasant life into torment. He never suspects Victoria means to create her own future.

Police Inspector Rob McDuff patrols London with a keen mind and a heavy burden. Caught in never ending routine in a city full of crime.

Then he discovers a misdeed unexplainable by normal methods. An investigation that leads him to Victoria’s door.

Will McDuff seal Victoria’s fate? Or will their collision create a new destiny for them both?

*~*~*

And finally, something a bit different, Shannon Mayer’s Forty Proof series. A paranormal women’s fiction series for women forty and over.

Here’s the premise:

When divorce comes your way, don’t let the ex get you down. Get ready for a whole new laugh-out-loud adventure. Because life is just beginning . . . as a midlife bounty hunter of the supernatural!

Posted in bog streak | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Quiet Day

Not much has happened today that I deem worthy of putting in a blog post. So, I give you a list of a few of the websites I’ve used to research Scotland!

Graphic courtesy of freepngimg.com

Official Gateway to Scotland

Royalty, Nobility and Gentry of Scotland in the 16th Century

Cailleach’s Herbarium

Isle of Skye

Glossary of Scottish slang and jargon

Clothing of the Ancient Celts-Scotland

Ancient Highland Dress

and finally, Edinburgh Doesn’t Rhyme With Pittsburgh – A Guide to Scottish Placenames

Have fun exploring!

Posted in bog streak | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Beekeeping Fun

My youngest daughter home-schools her children. Because of that, her family has the flexibility to take advantage of some wonderful opportunities.

This month they’re visiting an island in the Caribbean, and yesterday they had an adventure in beekeeping! They had the opportunity to watch and learn as an experienced beekeeper split one of his hives. A unique experience that even the best public (or private for that matter) school would never have been able to provide.

And here they are… beekeepers for a day!

Posted in bog streak, Family | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Pretty Picture Sunday

Posted in bog streak, Pretty Picture Day | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Birthdays

Long ago, I gave birth to twins on this date! A boy and a girl. My perfect family arrived in a single day. Of course, my family wasn’t really perfect until their sister arrived two-and-a-half years later, but since I’d always dreamed of having a son and a daughter, I felt like it was perfect on that September day *lol*

Ahh… hospital newborn photos! Weren’t they adorable?

Here they are as adults:

What a lucky woman I am!

Posted in bog streak, Family | Tagged | Leave a comment